The history of Daylight Saving Time (DST) is very interesting.  It was first implemented by the United States (and other countries at various times) in 1918 during World War I.  Since then, it has been discontinued and implemented randomly throughout the country.  Naturally, this caused a lot of confusion, so the Federal Government passed the Uniform Time Act of 1966 to regulate time zones and DST, but gave states the option to be exempt.  Hawaii and most of Arizona do not observe DST.

DST is observed by approximately 70 countries throughout the world.  For the United States, we “spring forward” the second Sunday in March and “fall back” the first Sunday in November. Most tropical areas do not observe DST because the amount of daylight to darkness does not change significantly during the year.  Hawaii’s latitude (we’re the southern-most state in the nation) and our western location in our time zone gives us plenty of sunlight year round.

So, at 2:00 am on Sunday, November 3rd, when most states across the country will adjust their clocks back one hour to observe DST, Hawaii will peacefully sleep through this transition since we do not observe it.  So, in the fall and winter months we appear to be one hour closer to everyone else – instead of there being a 3 hour difference between Pacific Standard Time, there is now only a 2 hour difference, etc.

  • Facebook
  • email

Get new posts by email
Leave a comment